Fred Peterson Award

The FRED L. PETERSON AWARD was created as a memorial to Fred L. Peterson. Fred was the outdoor editor of the Spokesman Review in Spokane, Washington for 10 years, editor of the Fishing & Hunting News for 7 years, and the publisher of The Outdoor Press for 30 years. He died in 1995. Fred was a charter member of NOWA.
Fred worked extensively with the supporting members of NOWA in an effort to understand the outdoor products and services offered to his readers and other consumers. He knew the educational value supporting members provided to outdoor communications and the public.

As a result, The Fred L. Peterson Award is given each year to a NOWA Supporting Member that has demonstrated support for the outdoor media, made significant contributions to the outdoor education of the general public – with a special emphasis on youth – and best represents the ideals and ethical priciples of outdoor recreation and journalism as manifest in Fred L. Peterson’s career.

2018: TTI Blakemore Fishing Group

Dennis Clay presents the 2018 Fred Peterson Award to Ron Stallings, shown on the right, TTI Blakemore Fishing Group

The recipient is honored at the NOWA Annual Awards Banquet and given a suitably inscribed plaque. Past Fred L. Peterson Award winners are:

1996: International Sportsmen’s Expositions
1997: Yakima Bait Company
1998: Plano Molding Company
1999: Luhr Jensen & Sons
2000: Bushnell Sports Optics Worldwide
2001: National Shooting Sports Foundation
2002: Coleman Company Inc.
2003: Shakespeare Fishing Tackle
2004: Hells Canyon Visitor Association
2005: Flathead Convention & Visitor Bureau
2006: Dennis Phillips (The Walker Agency)
2007: DeLorme
2008: Remington (Freedom Group, Inc.)
2009: Leupold & Stevens, Inc.
2010: Lone Wolf Distributors, Inc.
2011: CampChef                                                                                                                                         2014: Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation                                                                                                    2015: Alpen Optics                                                                                                                                    2016: BoatUS                                                                                                                                            2017: PureFishing

Enos Bradner Award

The ENOS BRADNER AWARD was created by a vote of Northwest Outdoor Writers Association (NOWA) members to honor a person holding any class of membership in NOWA, and as a memorial to Enos Bradner. Enos Bradner was outdoor editor of the Seattle Times for 26 years between 1943 and 1969. He died in January of 1984. Enos was a founding father of NOWA.
The Enos Bradner award recipient is chosen by the three most recent, past chairmen of the NOWA Board of Directors. Criteria for selection includes long time outstanding support of NOWA and upholding the high professional standards of outdoor journalism practiced by Enos Bradner. The three immediate past chairmen of the board of directors are not allowed to name one of themselves as winner.

The recipient is given a perpetual plaque, donated by Fred L. Peterson, to hold for one year on which the yearly winners names are engraved. The winner is also given a smaller plaque, suitably inscribed, to keep. The first recipient, in 1985, was Howard Gray, former OWAA president, founding member of NOWA and a close friend of Enos Bradner.
Enos Bradner Award winners are:

1985: Howard Gray
1986: Stan Jones
1987: Milt Keizer
1988: Herb Williams
1989: Don Holm
1990: Fred L. Peterson
1991: Ed Park
1992: Doug Wilson
1993: Terry Sheely
1994: Gary Christenson
1995: Charles Summers
1996: Gwen Peterson
1997: Mildred Ericson
1998: Bob Mottram
1999: Francis Caldwell
2000: Bill Keil
2001: Denis Clay
2002: Henry Frew
2003: Dave Vedder
2004: Ron Kerr
2005: Jack McNeel
2006: Sue & Eric Hansen
2007: Scott Richmond
2008: Bill Monroe
2009: Gary Lewis
2011: Peter Schroeder                                                                                                                               2012: Christopher Batin
2014: Chuck Robbins                                                                                                                                2015: Stan Fagerstrom                                                                                                                                   2016: Ralph Shaw